That Summer

I heard a faint vibrate of my brothers phone from two rooms over, and something came over me. A longing for summer 2010. That was before we were together, but it was when you wanted me most. 

I was laying on the top bunk in the cottage on Lake Leelenau, and that was the same vibrate that would go off every two seconds because you could’t respond to me fast enough. That was the first time I had even considered it. Maybe I was doing it to fuck around with you at first, but then, I thought it through. You tried so hard for so long, and I thought to myself, “why am I fighting this?” I wanted someone, and while you were there, I was ignoring the best thing that would ever happen to me. 

I told you it might happen. That maybe, just possibly, it could. Because that was all you wanted. Just once. That was all it took for you to commit. Although you had persistence before, this was new. You would try until it happened, and I’m forever thankful for that.
 
That night, I complained about not being able to sleep. So I kept texting you. But you cared, so you told me to turn my phone off and just try to shut my eyes. And I did. And there I was, still and finally asleep. Because of you. 
Now, two years later, I lay in my bed at home. And my phone is silent. The only vibration I can hear is two rooms over. And now is the time I want you most. 
Thank God it wasn’t just once.
 
Image
 
 
 
Leave a Reply

